I-SITE BFC Consortium

Founder members

The “Community of Universities and Establishments University of Burgundy Franche-Comté” (UBFC) – created on April 1, 2015 – gathers 6 establishments around a common research strategy:

• University of Burgundy,
• University of Franche-Comté ,
• University of Technology of Belfort-Montbé liard,
• Agrosup Dijon,
• National School of Mechanics and Microtechnology (ENSMM, Besançon)
• Burgundy School of Business (ESC Dijon).


• Mech. and Industrial Engineering School (ENSAM, Cluny),
• National Research institutions: INRA, CNRS, INSERM and CEA,
• University Hospitals and health institutions in Burgundy Franche-Comté : CHU Dijon, CHU Besanç on, Centre de Lutte Contre le Cancer Georges François Leclerc, Etablissement Français du Sang.

With the support of the BFC socio-economic actors and of the local public authorities.

I-SITE BFC Key figures (2013):

• 56 000 students
• 3 000 graduates of a master’s degree per year
• ~370 PhDs per year
• ~1 450 students in Master in management
• ~5 000 engineering students
• 2 042 faculty members
• ~450 researchers
• 60 laboratories among which some are jointly operated with CNRS (17), INSERM (3) and INRA (4). They are strongly linked to the SATT Grand Est (Technology Transfer Accelerated Society) and industrial members of the Competitivness clusters located in BFC, representing more than 100 000 jobs

carte UBFC